Leadership & Staff

Stephanie McGarrah

Executive Director

A headshot of Stephanie McGarrah, wearing a peach-colored shirt and long pearl necklace

Stephanie McGarrah serves as Executive Director of the North Carolina Pandemic Recovery Office. A native of western NC, McGarrah most recently worked with the North Carolina Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) to help identify, measure and address health care workforce shortages across the state. Prior to that, she served as Vice President of Policy at the North Carolina Healthcare Association (NCHA) and as a consultant for UNC Health and taught and conducted policy research at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  From 2007 to 2013, Stephanie served as Assistant Secretary at the North Carolina Department of Commerce. She holds a Bachelor of Arts from UNC-Chapel Hill and a master's degree in public policy from Duke University. 

Tommy Clark

Deputy Director

A headshot of Tommy Clark, wearing a gray suit jacket, light purple shirt, and purple striped tie

Tommy Clark serves as the Deputy Director of the North Carolina Pandemic Recovery Office. A native of eastern North Carolina, Tommy has served the state of North Carolina for over 25 years. He graduated from East Carolina University with a BS in Accounting and earned his CPA license while working as a staff accountant with Dixon, Odom and Co Public Accounting firm in Sanford, NC. He served as the Wildlife Resources Commission’s Budget Director for over 16 years and as the Chief Financial Officer for the Secretary of State for over 7 years.  



Stephanie McGarrah
Executive Director
Tommy Clark Deputy Director tommy.clark@osbm.nc.gov
Jon Williams General Counsel jon.williams@osbm.nc.gov
Joy Darden Chief Financial Officer joy.darden@osbm.nc.gov
Jamilla Hawkins Chief of Staff jamilla.hawkins@osbm.nc.gov
Communications and Office Management
Emily "Lou" Owoc-Edwards
Program Manager
Jessie Holmes Communications Specialist jessie.holmes@osbm.nc.gov
Yeiney Luna Executive Assistant yeiney.luna@osbm.nc.gov
Nazan Oztemiz
Accounting Manager
Jessica Thorsen Accounting Technician jessica.thorsen@osbm.nc.gov
Michele Sykes Internal Audit Manager michele.sykes@osbm.nc.gov
Madison Huff Auditor madison.huff@osbm.nc.gov
Candace Rheaume Auditor candace.rheaume@osbm.nc.gov
Collin Harris Auditor collin.harris@osbm.nc.gov
Data Management
Yongjun Lei Database Manager yongjun.lei@osbm.nc.gov
Changheng "Hank" Yang Database Analyst changheng.yang@osbm.nc.gov
Brenda Smith Database Analyst brenda.smith@osbm.nc.gov
Grants Management
Tara Fikes
Grants Administrative Director
Marquis Crews Grants Manager marquis.crews@osbm.nc.gov
Heather Laffler Grants Manager heather.laffler@osbm.nc.gov
Neil Coles Grants Manager neil.coles@osbm.nc.gov
Erik Miller Grants Manager erik.miller@osbm.nc.gov
Ruth "Helen" Bowens Senior Grants Management Analyst helen.bowens@osbm.nc.gov
Ethan Powell Grants Management Analyst ethan.powell@osbm.nc.gov
Policy, Strategy and Reporting
Jim Kleckley
Senior Economic Advisor
Natalie Garrett Reporting Team Manager natalie.garrett@osbm.nc.gov
Michael "Mikey" Bennett Program Analyst michael.bennett@osbm.nc.gov
Susanna "Suse" Miesel Program Analyst susanna.miesel@osbm.nc.gov
Kiel Kinkade Program Analyst kiel.kinkade@osbm.nc.gov